With the thought of bananas – tagging my Power Food post from earlier this week – https://dofivethingsaday.com/2016/04/19/power-food-bananas/  – this week’s #tbt post is my Grandma’s Banana Bread Recipe – I posted it publicly about 2 years ago after much debate about letting this cat out of the bag, but over the last several years I’ve learned that we’re here to share our joy with others (I’m awfully dramatic about banana bread aren’t I!)

Two years and two months ago I wrote…

There aren’t many things better to me than my Grandma Bell’s Banana Bread…and today was a good day for it. Our furnace isn’t working too well so today was a perfect day to heat up the oven and we definitely had some ripened bananas in the house from my boyfriend’s Hypothermia adventure a couple of weeks ago (he also had low potassium…hence the bananas). I have to be honest that I am fighting the choice to share this recipe with you…it’s a family favorite and I take a lot of pride in this recipe!

Grandma Bell’s Banana Bread Recipe

  • 1/3 cup shortening
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 very ripe bananas, sliced
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  1. Cream together shortening, sugar, and bananas.
  2. Add egg and beat.
  3. Add vanilla extract.
  4. Combine dry ingredients in separate bowl.
  5. Gently stir in dry ingredients mixture alternating with milk.
  6. Pour in loaf pan (I grease mine so the bread slides out easier).
  7. Bake at 350degrees about an hour.

Please forgive my not-the-best photographs from then…I’ve learned a little in this department since then…

Banana Bread

 

